Soul Asylum Back with Delayed Reaction

In the early nineties, it looked like good music was finally on the brink of take back the radio waves. Alice in Chains, Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Smashing Pumpkins and Soul Asylum, all making great music and putting to rest years of drek like Motley Crue and Bon Jovi. Regrettably, ever since the mid/late nineties, groups like Soul Asylum are hardly ever heard on mainstream radio. It's a disgrace because Dave Pirner and the boys know how to write very good music, something that normally seems lost on the current crop of groups like Linkin Park and Nickelback that have taken over the airwaves.

Soul Asylum's previous album The Silver Lining is one of the best alt-rock albums of 2006. The song structures are brilliant and are all quite tempting. What I like most about "The Silver Lining" is the variety within the songs. They range from mid-tempo ballads to heavy rockers and from memorable pop tunes to experimental songs. Harmoniously, there are elements of classic rock in their approach, but the arrangement and Dave Pirner's recital result in a style that is classic nineties alt-rock.

Delayed Reaction will be Soul Asylum's eleventh studio album, and it’s a long-delayed follow up to their 2006 album “The Silver Lining”. Delayed Reaction is produced by John Fields and it will hit the shelves on July 17, 2012.

Delayed Reaction tracks:

1. "Gravity" (Length 04:32)

2. "Into the Light" (03:58)

3. "The Streets" (02:49)

4. "By the Way" (03:21)

5. "Pipe Dream" (02:45)

6. "Let's All Kill Each Other" (02:40)

7. "Cruel Intentions" (03:54)

8. "The Juice" (03:38)

9. "Take Manhattan" (02:55)

10. "I Shoulda Stayed in Bed" (05:10)

Soul Asylum, Delayed Reaction, new, cd, cover