Nick Cave / The Bad Seeds win Ivor Novello Award 2014

Nick Cave, Mumford & Sons , Passenger , Tom Odell and Jeff Beck were among the winners at the prestigious Ivor Novello Awards. The awards are given by the British Academy of Songwriters Composers and Authors (BASCA).

Fourteen trophies, including awards for classical music and soundtracks for television and film were delivered.

A major surprises of the night was to see Australian living in England Nick Cave beating the Arctic Monkeys in the category of best album, praise by "Push Away The Sky".

The Passenger won PRS for most performed work for "Let Her Go", Mumford & Sons was awarded for their international contribution made to British music. "Retrograde" by James Blake was chosen the best contemporary song, Tom Odell was the best songwriter and "Strong" from the London Grammar won the award for best song musically and lyrical.

Special Awards

The Ivor Novellos also celebrate artists who have contributed much to British music and the world. This year the Association of Authors, honored guitarist Jeff Beck for his fundamental contribution to British music, while the former lead singer of the Specials Jerry Dammers won the ivors inspiration award. The award for lifetime achievement went to Christine McVi , who recently decided to return to the devoted band: The Fleetwood Mac .

Finally, the Chemical Brothers earned the award for their song ("Outstanding Song Collection") and Nile Rodgers (of Chic ) won the special prize given to an international artist.

Check out the full list of winners below:

PRS for Music Most Performed Work
Let Her Go - Passenger

The Ivors Classical Music Award
John McCabe

Best Television Soundtrack
Ripper Street

Best Contemporary Song
Retrograde - James Blake

International Achievement
Mumford & Sons

Best Original Film Score
The Epic of Everest

The Ivors Inspiration Award
Jerry Dammers

Album Award
Push the Sky Away - Nick Cave and Warren Ellis

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music
Jeff Beck

Best Song Musically and Lyrically
Strong - London Grammar

Songwriter of the Year
Tom Odell

Outstanding Song Collection
The Chemical Brothers

Lifetime Achievement
Christine McVie

PRS for Music Special International Award
Nile Rodgers