Destiny, the first person shooter video game gets a sequel called Destiny 2. Since the recent gameplay premiere revealed a lot about the successor of the shooter. Many questions are still open. Perhaps the most important question is: Can Destiny 2 meets the high expectations of the fans?

In 2014 Destiny entered the stage of the gaming world with a bang. Bungies and Activison's combination of shooter and MMO has attracted countless players and still has loyal and passionate fans. But "Destiny" was and still is far from perfection.

Exploits, glitches, balance problems and content droughts determined the story of Destiny as well as the ongoing lively discussion between those who play the game and those who are developing the game. Especially, the balance in the PvP is a topic for which the developers never found an optimal solution.

With Destiny 2 everything is now to be improved. At least the guardians want this and the developers are looking for it. But - what is really new in Destiny 2?

Destiny 2 - Story and Setting

One of the biggest criticisms in Destiny 1 was the campaign. The story missions were worthless: the connection was missing, there were no strong characters, no one really understood what it was about.

Destiny and Destiny 2 play in a sci-fi setting at a time after the "collapse". The collapse represents the end of the Golden Age - an era that was considered the culmination of humanity. New planets were colonized and technical progress was not stopped. This era began with the arrival of the traveler (a mysterious, giant ball). The light of the traveler is the source of the power of the guardians. However, the traveler has many enemies that the guardians in Destiny 1 had to deal with.

Destiny 2 concludes the events from "King of the Obscene". After the arrival of Oryx, the cabal sent an emergency signal - and now the Cabal Empire responds. The Red legion, an elite unit of cabal under the leadership of Ghaul, attacks the earth, the last city and the tower.

Ghaul locks the traveler into a kind of cage, causing the guards to lose their power. In addition, all the items of the Guardians are destroyed during the invasion. This is the story-telling explanation why you need to start at Zero and learn new skills in Destiny 2. Only the appearance from Destiny 1 can be transmitted.

The story missions in Destiny 2 are supposed to contain more cinematics and be better staged than in Destiny 1 - with the goal: Better story-telling, more action.

In addition to the campaign, the story of Destiny 2 is told in the form of side quests, characters you encounter, and scannable objects. Grimoire cards are no longer available

New Worlds / Places / Locations in Destiny 2

After the attack of the Red legion, the vanguard chiefs are scattered in the solar system. Before you start looking for them, you will be sent to the European Death Zone, where many guardians took refuge and formed a new community.

Other new Worlds are:

- Titan: A Saturn moon where Zavala is. This moon consists of a methane sea, there is no land mass.

- Nessus: A planetoid with Cayde-6. This small planet has been transformed by the Vex.

- Io: A sulfur planet of Jupiter. This is where Ikora Rey retreated. On Io there should be a lot of mythology and secrets.

Destiny 2 - gameplay innovations / new content

Destiny 2 still feels like Destiny, confirming first testers. And this is not a disadvantage - Destiny's gunplay has always been praised in the highest tones. There are no groundbreaking innovations in gameplay. Destiny 2 will not offer a completely new player experience in this aspect. However, there are many new features that make Destiny 2 better than its predecessor:

- New Weapon System: There is no division into primary, secondary and heavy weapons, but: kinetics, energy and power. In the kinetic slot are the previous primary weapons as well as the guns and the new SMGs, in the energy slot are the same armor as in the kinetic slot, but with elemental damage, and in the third power slot are all powerful weapons, the one With a hit - like shotgun, sniper, fusion gun, rocket launchers or the new grenade launchers.

- There are numerous new weapons, armor parts and exotics.

- Within the framework of the gameplay premiere "Mod spots" were discovered in the weapons. Concrete information is missing

- Armor Attributes - intellect, strength, discipline - have been removed

- A New Navigator: You do not have to fly into orbit anymore to start a new activity. The map can be opened anywhere.

- You can create emblems and descriptions for clans

- Guided Games: A new kind of matchmaking that also allows solo players to play raids and other activities. They are matched with other clans who still need one or two players for an activity.

- Strikes: A new strike called Inverted Spire is known. Strikes remain three-player activities

- Raids: There will be a raid

In addition to story missions, strikes and etc, there are new activities: Adventures, Lost Sectors, and Public Events.

- PvP: All modes in the melting pot are played 4v4. A new PvP mode is called Countdown. There are no private games at the launch.

- The opponent races seem to remain the same. But there are new enemy units of the different races.

Destiny 2 - Classes and Sub-classes

In Destiny 2 there are the three known classes from Destiny 1: Titan, Hunter and Warlock.

Each class receives a new sub-class (focus):

- The warlock gets the Dawnblade. The Super is a solar sword. To this focus, there is already more information.

- The Titan receives the sentinel. At the Super, he creates a blank sign.

- The hunter receives the Ark strider. The Super is an Ark Staff.

The complete list of all subclasses in Destiny 2 is still unknown, but the three new foci will replace the Bladedancer, the defender and the Sunsinger. In addition, previous focuss are being revised, such as the Titan Striker and the Hunter Gunslinger.

Destiny 2 Release Date - When is the launch for PS4, Xbox One and PC?

Destiny 2 will be released on September 8, 2017 for PS4 and Xbox One.

The PC version does not have an official release date yet.

A release for the Nintendo Switch is not planned.

There will be PS4 exclusive content - this is not yet revealed.

Destiny 1 is only available on consoles. With Destiny 2, the MMO shooter comes to the PC for the first time. Please note:

- Destiny 2 does not have Steam. Instead, it is exclusive to Blizzard's

- The PC version is developed by Vicarious Visions, an Activision studio

- While Destiny 2 on the PS4 Pro is limited to 30 FPS, FPS beyond the 60 is possible on the PC

- There are no dedicated servers

- Cross-play and cross-save are not possible

When will the Destiny 2 Beta Test start?

A beta test for Destiny 2 will be released in summer. Pre-Orders get guaranteed access.


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.

Subscribe Now

Blog Archive

Follow by Email